Counties Chess

Minor Counties Team Championship

(Open) 2009-10

MCCU Home News About MCCU Junior Chess Correspondence Chess County Matches Grand Prix Congresses Links Links Site Guide


Historic Results
2009-2010 Season

Match News Open Championship Minor Championship u180 Competition u160 Competition u140 Competition u120 Competition u100 Competition National Stages

Other Seasons

Other Seasons

Current Season's
News & Results

Current Season


Last updated 13 March 2010

Minor Counties Championship

In the first match on 14 November, Lincolnshire reversed last year's result under their new captain Nigel Birtwistle to beat Worcs. Meanwhile, Leics beat Shrops.

In the second round on 5 December, Lincs and Leics continue to share the lead and Worcs remain at the bottom.

Leicestershire go to the top of the table in the first match of 2010, beating Worcs by the narrowest of margins.

In the final match of the season, Lincolnshire convincingly beat Shropshire to gain the MCCU Minor Counties Title.

Lincolnshire and runners-up Leicestershire will be nominated as MCCU teams to go forward to the ECF stages.

"The rules published at the start of the season were in error, in that they did not reflect a change arising out of the 2005 AGM. The precise course of events that led to this is unclear, but the 2005 AGM decided that the winner & runner up of the lower (minor) division of the Open should go through to the National stages."

Position Teams Pl W D L Game Points Match Pts
1st Lincolnshire 3 2 1 0 29½ 5
2nd Leicestershire 3 2 1 0 26 5
  Shropshire 3 1 0 2 23 2
  Worcestershire 3 0 0 3 17½ 0

Date Match Result
14 Nov Shropshire - Leicestershire 6½ - 9½
14 Nov Worcestershire - Lincolnshire 5½ - 10½
5 Dec Shropshire - Worcestershire 11½ -4½
5 Dec Leicestershire - Lincolnshire 8 - 8
30 Jan Leicestershire - Worcestershire 8½ - 7½
13 Mar Shropshire - Lincolnshire 5 - 11