Counties Chess

The MCCU Chess Counties

MCCU Home About MCCU Junior Chess Correspondence Chess County Matches Grand Prix Congresses Links Links Site Guide



About MCCU

About the MCCU MCCU Counties

MCCU People MCCU Officers MCCU masters


Constitution Admin Papers English Chess Forum

Page last updated 16 August 2020

Role of Chess Counties in the MCCU

Eleven county chess associations - Derbyshire, Manchester Chess Federation (playing as Greater Manchester), Herefordshire, Leicestershire & Rutland, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, and Worcestershire - currently form the MCCU. At times in the past Oxfordshire (currently without affiliation) and Huntingdonshire (now part of Cambridgeshire CA in the EACU) were members of the MCCU.

The counties have agreed annual funds based on the level of chess activity in each county to pay for the competitions run by the MCCU. Each county association has four votes at the annual MCCU general meeting and may send more than one delegate or appoint a proxy vote.

Most of the county associations forming the MCCU field teams in inter-county competitions organised by the MCCU. Warwickshire and Nottinghamshire have the greatest number of county teams in MCCU competitions while Herefordshire and Northamptonshire are the only ones that do not. If you are keen to organise a county team, please talk to your county secretary and the MCCU Chief Executive Officer.

MCCU Counties
The eleven counties that form the MCCU

County Association Directory

If you wish to contact a county chess association secretar, a delegate or officer to the Midlands Chess Counties Union, please contact Ray Dolan if the relevant details are not available from the relevant county association's website.

Derbyshire website

Secretary: John D.Hoddy
MCCU delegate: Simon Gilmore

Nottinghamshire website

Secretary: Neil Graham
MCCU delegate 1: vacant
MCCU delegate 2: Drag Sudar
MCCU delegate 3: Tim Walker

Herefordshire website

Secretary: Alan Leary
MCCU delegate: Alan Leary

Shropshire website

Secretary: Matthew Clarke
MCCU delegate 1: Roger Brown
MCCU delegate 2: Richard Thompson

Leicestershire & Rutland website

Secretary: John Pattinson
MCCU delegate 1: Shabir Okhai
MCCU delegate 2: Paul Mottram
MCCU delegate 3: John Mitchell

Staffordshire website

Secretary: Ray Dolan
MCCU delegate 1: Andrew T Leadbetter
MCCU delegate 2: Robert Milner
MCCU delegate 3: Matthew Carr
MCCU delegate 4: Ray Dolan

Lincolnshire website

Secretary: John Grasham
MCCU delegate 1: Peter Sherlock
MCCU delegate 2: John Grasham
MCCU delegate 3: Ian Scott

Warwickshire website

Secretary: Andrew Ward.
MCCU delegate 1: Andrew Ward
MCCU delegate 2: vacant
MCCU delegate 3: Alex Holowczak
MCCU delegate 4: David Thomas

Manchester Chess Federation website

General Scretary: Andrew Shingleton
Executive Officer: Jon Lonsdale
MCCU delegate 1: Julian Clissold
MCCU delegate 2: Jon Lonsdale
MCCU delegate 3: John Reyes

Worcestershire website

Secretary: Paul Sharratt
MCCU delegate 1: Paul Sharratt
MCCU delegate 2: Stephen Woodhouse
MCCU delegate 3: Tony Shaw
MCCU delegate 4: Monty Woodhouse

Northamptonshire website

Secretary: Keith Ball
MCCU delegate: Chris Gibson