MCCU logo

2015 MCCU Congress @Walsall
14 and 15 March 2015

Ryecroft Community Hub
MCCU logo

Winners, results and pictures


Tomasz Sygnowski The analysis room The controllers
Left: Open winner Tomasz Sygnowski deep in thought
Centre: The analysis room
Right: Controllers Matthew and Neil


First - Tomasz Sygnowski (West Bromwich) 4½ points.
Second - Michael H Barnes (Gambit, Notts) 4 points.
Third to fifth - Philip Bull (West Bromwich), Nathanael Paul (Newporrt, Shrops) and Jonah Willow (West Nottingham) 3½ points.
Other players: David Ireland (Coventry), Richard McNally (Stratford) 2½ points; Michael Naylor (Gambit, Notts) 2 points; Mark Page (Kenilworth, w/d after 2 rounds) 1½ points; Ray Collett (Worcester), Mike Surtees (Bolton, GMC, w/d after 3 rounds) and Moin Uddin (West Bromwich) 1 point.

Chess Essentials Bookstall The cafe
Chess Essentials Bookstall and The cafe


Major (under-160)

First to second - Dean Hartley (Amber Valley, Derbys) and Nicholas A Walker (West Bromwich) 4 points.
Third to fourth - Dragoljub Sudar (Gambit, Notts) and Glyn Ward (Peterborough) 3½ points.
Other players: Neill Homer (Northants); William Lovell (The Hall Sch, Mdx), Richard Szwaijkun (Shifnal & Telford), Stephen Williams (Cwmbran), Frank Wood (Wolverhampton) 3 points; Carl Portman (Banbury) 2½ points; Adam Bennett (Cumnor), John Grasham (Louth, Lincs), Richard Wilshire (Rushall, W Mids) 2 points; Windsor Peck (Halesowen, Worcs), Alex Pready (Birmingham), LukaszMarcin Walijewski (Walsall Kipping) 1½ points; Michael Connor (Great Lever, GMC), Qais Karimi (Lincoln) and Arnold Kirkland (Droitwich, Worcs) 1 point.

Players in the Minor Dean Harltey joint winner of Major
Left: Players in the Minor. Right Dean Hartley, joint winner of the Major


Minor (under 120)

First to second - Marek Piedel and Laurence Tarbuck (Grendon) 4½ points.
Third to fifth - Chris Cox (Mercia. W Mids), Paul Davies (Stratford, Warks), and Steve Swaijkun (Lichfield, Staffs) 3½ points.
Other players: Terence Greenaway, Julian Hawthorne (Kidsgrove), and John Pakenham (Warley Quinborne, W Mids) 3 points; Clive Blackburn (Coventry), Victor Brown (Walsall Kipping), Chris Fraser (West Bridgeford, Notts), Kishore Murugesh (Horncastle, Lincs) 2½ points; Richard Buxton (Stratford, Warks), Andrew P Davies (Brewood, Staffs), Dominic Holmes and Devan Patel, (Bloxwich Juniors, Staffs) 2 points; Andrew Fenn and Chris Willetts (Bloxwich Juniors, Staffs) 1½ points; Matthew Dinoo and Sarvesh Rajdev (Bloxwich Juniors, Staffs) 1 point.

Full cross-tables